0L, Lifestyle

Post-Undergrad-Graduation Blues

There have been a lot of changes since I graduated in December. I left all of my friends and moved back home with my parents (1200+ miles away). I was out of money, my rent was up, out of school, out of everything it seemed. Despite that, I was still living in dream-land where despite the fact that all of my friends who have already graduated made it clear that it’s not all sunshine and roses after graduation, in my little world it would be all good. I thought it would be super easy to get a job, I’d stay with my parents to save more money, everything would be parfait.

LOL.

I was wrong.

I have been home since the middle of December, it’s now April and I still don’t have income. My bank account is now very, very low. I miss my friends terribly. I miss the sun (in my hometown it has been a very long winter…it literally snowed yesterday…#overit). I do, at least, have an interview lined up at the end of the month, but I’m still freaking out a little as my bank account goes from very low to “yo you don’t have anything.”

In a big city there are tons of jobs available, but here my options are mostly limited to “I’m way over-qualified for this” and “I’m way under-qualified for this.” And, might I ask why you need 5 years of experience for an entry level position?! I can’t get the experience at these ENTRY level position jobs if they all require you have 5 years experience. Ugh. Just, ugh.

Enough complaining. Since coming home I’ve been able to do some things that I haven’t been able to do in a long time. I’ve had time to compose again (don’t get too excited y’all, I’m not the next big pop-star. I’m classically trained and my compositions are mostly classical or jazz), although I am literally the worst at coming up with names for my compositions. I’ve also been able to hang out and travel with my best friend (though my bank account doesn’t like this). While most of my friends are back in AZ my life-long ride or die is here in my hometown so it’s amazing to get to spend so much time with her. The rest of my law school applications aren’t due until June so I can relax a little bit on that front, so that’s nice.

Overall, the moral of the story is: Don’t expect things to just magically happen and be perfect right after graduation. I didn’t believe my friends, I thought everything would be just dandy and that mentality DID NOT work out for me. I’m not saying the world ends and everything falls apart after graduation, just don’t expect it to be smooth sailing right away (and if it ends up being easy for you that’s great!).

Here’s to hoping for a job and sunny days ahead! Santé mes amies! 

Leave a Reply

